The following global indicator framework was developed by the Inter-Agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators (IAEG-SDGs) and agreed to, as a practical starting point at the 47th session of the UN Statistical Commission held in March 2016. The report of the Commission, which included the global indicator framework, was then taken note of by ECOSOC at its 70th session in June 2016. The list includes 230 indicators on which general agreement has been reached. Please note that the total number of indicators listed in the final indicator proposal is 241. However, since nine indicators repeat under two or three different targets (see below), the actual total number of individual unique global indicators in the list is 232. (PSA SDGs Website)

Indicators in the final list that repeat are the following:

  • 1) 7.a.1/13.a.1
  • 2) 8.4.1/12.2.1
  • 3) 8.4.2/12.2.2
  • 4) 10.3.1/16.b.1
  • 5) 10.6.1/16.8.1
  • 6) 15.7.1/15.c.1
  • 7) 15.a.1/15.b.1
  • 8) 1.5.1/11.5.1/13.1.2
  • 9) 1.5.3/11.b.2/13.1.1

For the Philippines, there are 155 Tier 1 SDG indicators which were used in the preparation of the Philippine Development Plan (PDP), proxy and supplemental SDG indicators to be monitored by the government. Tier 1 SDG indicators are those with established methodology and regularly produced indicators. (PSA Board Resolution No. 09, s of 2017, Adopting and Approving the Initial List of Sustainable Development Goals for Monitoring in the Philippines; PSA SDG Website)